Professional clubs
and academies

A
Revolution
for

Operators of Sports and Entertainment Venues

Virtual Reality, Cognitive Skills and Benchmarking

The SoccerBot360 in Overview

Umbrella Software builds and develops one of the most innovative football training devices in the world. In the area of cognitive drills, the SoccerBot360 sets the standard for high-tech football training at professional clubs. Therefore, it is a highly valuable tool to understand the untapped potentials of professionals and their talents.

Our innovative benchmarking-procedure provides clubs for the first time the opportunity to measure objectively the cognitive abilities of their players in an environment, which mirrors the conditions they encounter on the actual football pitch.

Moreover, the self-developed 3D-visualization of sports movement data creates entirely new perspectives and tools for the tactical analysis of games.

Reviews and Opinions

I have been working intensively with the SoccerBot360 for a year and am fully convinced of its practicality. For the first time, we as coaches have the opportunity to train the cognitive skills of players in isolation. The device provides a multitude of possibilities to trigger several stimuli and the players go to training focused while still having fun.

Tom Stuckey

RB Leipzig U16 Coach and project manager of task group SoccerBot

After my first contact with the SoccerBot360, I realized that in a simple but brilliant way it trains and improves innovatively the player’s cognitive abilities, which are becoming more and more important on today’s football field.
At it, the secondary improvement of technical skills is a welcoming side effect.
The intelligent software provides a large variety of drills and makes players smarter. The device promotes the decision-making skills of players in many ways, especially as the players have a lot of fun while training inside the bot and are highly motivated by the challenges of ever-increasing tasks and stimuli.

Helmut Groß

Football visionary and management consultant for RB Leipzig

The SoccerBot360 fascinates with its simple construction in connection with its technical innovation. Especially in light of the holistic development of the players of tomorrow, it gives us new impulses and will effectively change the training or rather the methods of cognitive drills in football.

Ernst Tanner

Academy Director and Head of Youth Development at the Red Bull Academy Salzburg

The SoccerBot360 is an innovative tool for game-specific training of tactics in a professional football context. From a scientific view, I expect exciting studies with the device, which will continue to exploit new potentials for the development of test procedures and training methods.

Prof. Dr. Daniel Memmert

Managing director of institute German Sports University Cologne

“I consider the SoccerBot360 as an amazing opportunity to improve the individual performance of players, especially their cognitive abilities. By using the SoccerBot360, you can train game-decisive factors like orientation, concentration, decision-making, and mental processing speed as well as examine them under constant conditions.”

Frank Engel

Long-time professional coach and sporting director of youth development for the German Football Association (DFB)

The SoccerBot360 offers a unique way of cognitive training and diagnostics in a movement specific context. The possible opportunities are limitless. The SoccerBot360 is the football lab of the future!

Dr. Christian Kennel

Sports scientists working for RB Leipzig

Working Principle

The SoccerBot360 is a circular training device with a perimeter of 10 meters, providing the space for a 90qm large field on its inside. The edges of the fields contain of 32 segments, 1m wide and 2.5m high, which simultaneously serve as a projection area for the training contents and walls for played passes.

Due to the circular shape played balls bounce back to the player. The 80qm large area of the walls displays 3D rendered contents for the player in sixfold Full-HD.

A high-speed camera detects how fast, sharp, and with which foot one or more players solve the posted assignments through pass or shot. Moreover, the system analyzes the ball processing time and the ball controlling foot.

The combination of live-rendered training contents and 360° ball recognition makes it possible to play a broad spectrum of training drills. The currently available drills vary from abstract modii like “Find and hit the shown target” or “Hit as fast as possible a flashing square” to a realistic depiction of game scenes, which are based on movement data of all Bundesliga games and can be replayed at the user’s leisure.

Cognitive Skills

Football starts inside the mind

The training and fostering of cognitive skills were the focus of many studies and discussions during the past few years, which dealt with the development of professional football players and young talents. Most of them concluded that, especially, the speed of execution plays a vital role as a core competence of a modern football player.

The German professional coach Christoph Daum, who trained teams like Bayer Leverkusen, VfB Stuttgart, or Fenerbahce Istanbul, defined the speed of execution, as follows:

“In football, we identify the speed of execution as the ability to act very rapidly and effectively in complex situations due to visual, mental, technical, and tactical capacities.”

Measuring and training all parts of cognitive abilities, therefore, also means to know the strengths and weaknesses of a player and to be able to react to them specifically.

Training cognitive skills

The SoccerBot360 gives professional clubs an effective tool to develop the mental abilities of their players in a football-specific context. But the device does not only train those skills, it also measures them objectively. The mix of visual stimuli with mental tasks and regulatable stress exposure makes the training inside the SoccerBot360  a unique and diversified experience. The player solves all posed assignments with a ball at his/her feet to keep the difference between performances inside the bot and the real football pitch as small as possible.

The 360°-surrounding graphic projection enables a variety of training forms from abstract drills to game-like situations with realistic football graphics. The distinction between real football and the virtual world is, thereby, blurred, which permits an immense scope of possibilities for the conception of prospective training contents.

  • Sports scientists see enormous potential in the mental training of professional athletes.
  • Training inside the SoccerBot360 promotes the speed of execution, peripheral vision, and the spatial orientation
  • The bot provides novel training stimuli with adaptive difficulty levels and a large pool of exercises
  • Players are confronted with freely changeable situations and solve them always with a ball at their feet
  • Cognitive deficits are rectified, and talents can be further strengthened

Benchmarking

Due to its unique construction, the SoccerBot360 offers lab-like and standardised conditions. Together with sports scientists and psychologists, we are currently developing a benchmark procedure to measure the cognitive abilities of football players.

Similar to blood tests and performance diagnostics, this enables us to make reliable statements about the strengths and weaknesses of an athlete. Moreover, because of the standardisation of the test procedure, measured abilities can be compared with other athletes anytime.

  • A scientific benchmark procedure allows the assessment of players with respect to their cognitive abilities and possible improvement potential.

Game Analysis

Virtual Reality as a game analysation tool 

In addition to its training and measurement possibilities, the virtual world of SoccerBot360 also permits the simulation of games of the Bundesliga or second German league with the help of movement data that the Deutsche Fußball Liga (DFL/German League Association) makes available for all clubs. This data is currently used to create statistics and movement profiles (heat maps, for example); however, the SoccerBot360 processes these resources in a completely new way.

The device computes in real time the simulation of any desired game situation in a 1:1 scale from an any given point of view. While classic game analysation tools like cross-fading or control function are still available, this innovation makes it possible to analyse and evaluate game-decisive moments from a player’s perspective.

  • The 3D-simulation of all Bundesliga/Champions League games from a player’s perspective enables a new form of analysing situations for coaches and players
  • Already familiar video analysation tools for graphical editing are still available; contrary to the classical video analysis, the point of view can be chosen freely.
  • All scenes can be re-played with a ball as often as one like
  • In the near future, position-specific playbooks could be designed to prepare players for specific games or to assist in the integration of new players
Menu

Lizenzvereine und Akademien

Lizenzvereine und Akademien

Betreiber von Sportanlagen

Betreiber von Sportanlagen

Virtuelle Realität, kognitive Fähigkeiten und Benchmarking

Der SoccerBot360 im Überblick

Umbrella Software entwickelt und baut eines der weltweit innovativsten Fußballtrainingsgeräte. Der SoccerBot360 definiert im Bereich Kognitionsübungen den Standard für computergesteuertes Fußballtraining von Profivereinen. Er ist damit ein wertvolles Tool bei der Entwicklung bisher unerschlossener Potenziale von Profis und Talenten.

Unser innovatives Benchmarking-Verfahren wird Vereinen erstmalig die Vermessung von kognitiven Fähigkeiten ihrer Spieler im Zusammenhang mit fußballnahen Aufgabenstellungen ermöglichen. Mit den gewonnenen Daten werden Fähigkeiten objektiv messbar gemacht.

Die eigens für den SoccerBot360 entwickelte 3D-Visualisierung von Sport-Bewegungsdaten etabliert völlig neue Perspektiven für die Taktik-Analyse.

Stimmen zum SoccerBot

Schon beim ersten Kontakt mit dem SoccerBot360 war mir klar, dass damit auf einfache, aber geniale Weise die im Fußball immer wichtiger werdenden kognitiven Fähigkeiten der Spieler innovativ trainiert und verbessert werden.
Die „beiläufige“ Verbesserung der fußballerischen Technik ist dabei ein willkommener Nebeneffekt.
Die intelligente Software ermöglicht eine große Bandbreite an Übungen, - sie macht die Spieler „schlauer“: Die exekutiven Fähigkeiten werden in vielfältiger Weise gefördert, auch weil die Spieler hochmotiviert und mit großem Spaß von den sich stetig steigernden Aufgaben und Reizen gerne herausfordern lassen!
Helmut GroßFußballvisionär, Berater des Managements von RB Leipzig
Ich arbeite seit einem Jahr intensiv mit dem SoccerBot360 und bin von dem Training voll überzeugt. Erstmals haben wir Trainer die Möglichkeit, die kognitiven Fähigkeiten der Spieler isoliert zu trainieren. Das Gerät bietet dabei eine Vielzahl an Möglichkeiten, verschiedene Reize zu setzen und die Spieler gehen fokussiert und mit viel Spaß ins Training.
Tom StuckeyRB Leipzig U16 Nachwuchstrainer, Projektleiter Arbeitsgruppe SoccerBot
Der SoccerBot360 bietet auf einzigartige Weise kognitives Training und Diagnostik in einem bewegungsspezifischen Kontext. Die Möglichkeiten sind grenzenlos! Der SoccerBot360 ist das Fußballlabor der Zukunft!
Dr. Christian KennelSportwissenschaftler bei RB Leipzig
Der SoccerBot 360 besticht durch seine einfache Konstruktion in Verbindung mit technischer Innovation. Gerade im Hinblick auf die ganzheitliche Ausbildung der Spieler von Morgen gibt er uns neue Impulse und wird das Training bzw. die Methodik im kognitiven Training sowie der kognitiven Diagnostik in unserer Sportart nachhaltig verändern.
Ernst TannerAkademie und Nachwuchsleiter Red Bull Fußball Akademie Salzburg
Der SoccerBot360 ist ein innovatives Tool für das spielnahe Training von Taktiken im professionellen Fußballkontext. Aus Sicht der Wissenschaft erwarte ich spannende Studien mit dem Gerät, welche immer neue Potentiale zur Weiterentwicklung der Testverfahren und Trainingsinhalte erschließen werden.
Prof. Dr. Daniel Memmert Geschäftsführender Institutsleiter Deutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Ich sehe im SoccerBot360 eine hervorragende Möglichkeit zur Verbesserung des individuellen Leistungsvermögens der Spieler, insbesondere ihrer kognitiven Fähigkeiten. So können mit dem SoccerBot solche wichtigen Faktoren wie Wahrnehmung, gedankliche Schnelligkeit, Konzentration und Entscheidungsverhalten sowohl trainiert als auch unter konstanten Bedingungen überprüft werden.
Frank EngelLangjähriger Profitrainer und Sportlicher Leiter der DFB-Talentförderung

Funktionsweise

Der SoccerBot360 ist ein kreisförmiges Trainingsgerät mit 10 m Durchmesser, welches im Innenraum ein 90 qm großes Spielfeld bietet. Den Rand der Spielfläche bilden 32 Segmente von 1 m Breite und 2,5 m Höhe, die gleichzeitig als Projektionsfläche für die Trainingsinhalte dienen und mit einem Ball bespielt werden.

Durch die Kreisform prallen gespielte Pässe wieder zum Spieler zurück. Auf 80qm Wandfläche werden dem Spieler in Echtzeit gerenderte 3D-Inhalte in 6fach Full-HD angezeigt.

Eine Highspeed Kamera ermittelt, wie schnell, scharf, genau und mit welchem Fuß ein oder mehrere Spieler die gestellten Aufgaben per Pass oder Schuss lösen. Zusätzlich werden auch die Ballverarbeitungszeit und der Fuß der Ballannahme ausgewertet.

Durch die Kombination von live gerenderten Trainingsinhalten und 360° Ballerkennung ist ein breites Spektrum von Trainingsformen realisierbar. Die aktuell verfügbaren Trainingsformen reichen von abstrakten Modi wie “Finde und triff das angezeigte Ziel” und “Triff so schnell wie möglich ein aufblinkendes Viereck” bis zur realitätsnahen Darstellung von Spielszenen auf Basis von Bewegungsdaten aller Bundesligaspiele sowie der Möglichkeit, diese nachzuspielen.

Kognitive Fähigkeiten

Fußball beginnt im Kopf

Kognitive Fähigkeiten sind in der Entwicklung von Profifußballern und Talenten in den vergangenen Jahren umfassend thematisiert und gefordert worden. Eine Schlüsselrolle nimmt dabei die Handlungsschnelligkeit als Kernkompetenz moderner Fußballer ein.

Bereits 2005 formulierte Christoph Daum die Handlungsschnelligkeit wie folgt:

„Als Handlungsschnelligkeit im Fußball bezeichnen wir die Fähigkeit, auf Grund von visuellen, gedanklichen, technisch-taktischen und konditionellen Möglichkeiten situationsspezifisch möglichst schnell zu handeln“

Alle Teilaspekte der kognitiven Fähigkeiten zu messen und trainieren, heißt auch die Stärken und Defizite der Sportler zu kennen und dementsprechend darauf zu reagieren.

Kognitive Fähigkeiten trainieren

Mit dem SocccerBot360 wird Profivereinen ein effektives Tool zur Entwicklung kognitiver Fähigkeiten im Fußballkontext zur Verfügung gestellt mit dem die Fähigkeiten nicht nur trainiert, sondern objektiv messbar gemacht werden. Visuelle Reize gepaart mit gedanklichen Aufgaben und dosierbarer körperlicher Belastung machen das Training abwechslungsreich und einzigartig. Alle gestellten Aufgaben werden immer mit Ball am Fuß gelöst, um die Transferleistung im Umdenken auf das Fußballspiel so gering wie möglich zu halten.

Die 360° Vollgrafikprojektion ermöglicht ein Spektrum an Trainingsformen von abstrakten Aufgabenstellungen bis hin zu spielnahen Situationen mit realitätsnaher Fußballgrafik. Die Grenzen von realem Fußball und virtueller Welt verlaufen dabei fließend und erlauben eine große Bandbreite bei der Konzeption zukünftiger Trainingsinhalte.

  • Sportwissenschaftler sehen großes Potential in der kognitiven Schulung von Profisportlern
  • Im SoccerBot360 werden Handlungsschnelligkeit, peripheres Sehen und Orientierung im Raum geschult
  • Wir ermöglichen neuartige Trainingsreize mit adaptivem Schwierigkeitsgrad bei großer Abwechslung in den Übungen
  • Die Spieler werden mit frei konzipierbaren virtuellen Situationen konfrontiert und lösen diese immer mit Ball am Fuß
  • Defizite im kognitiven Bereich werden ausgeglichen und Begabungen können noch weiter verstärkt werden

Benchmarking

Der SoccerBot360 bietet auf Grund seiner einzigartigen Bauweise laborgleiche und damit standardisierte Bedingungen. Gemeinsam mit Sportwissenschaftlern und Psychologen wird derzeit ein Benchmarkingverfahren entwickelt, um die kognitiven Fähigkeiten von Fußballern zu vermessen.

Ähnlich wie Blutwerte und Leistungstests können somit belastbare Aussagen über die Fähigkeiten eines Sportlers getroffen werden. Durch die Standardisierbarkeit des Testverfahrens sind gemessene Fähigkeiten mit anderen Sportlern jederzeit vergleichbar.

  • Ein wissenschaftlich ermitteltes Benchmarkingverfahren erlaubt die Bewertung von Spielern hinsichtlich ihrer kognitiven Fähigkeiten und des Potentials, diese zu verbessern

Spielanalyse

Virtuelle Realität in der Spielanalyse

Die virtuelle Welt des SoccerBot ermöglicht zusätzlich zu allen Trainings- und Vermessungsmöglichkeiten auch die Simulation von Erst- und Zweitligaspielen der Bundesliga. Den Vereinen stehen über die DFL die Bewegungsdaten von allen Spielen zur Verfügung. Derzeit werden sie hauptsächlich für Statistiken, Bewegungsprofile und z.B. Heatmaps verwendet.

Der SoccerBot360 berechnet in Echtzeit die Simulation beliebiger Spielsituationen im Maßstab 1:1 aus einer frei wählbaren Perspektive. Somit ist es möglich, entscheidende Momente aus der Sicht eines Spielers zu analysieren und zu bewerten. Dabei stehen die aus der klassischen Videoanalyse bekannten Grafiküberblendungen und Steuerungsfunktionen zur Verfügung.

  • 3D-Wiedergabe aller Bundesliga / Champions League Spiele aus der Spielerperspektive erlaubt eine neue Form der Analyse von Situationen für Trainer und Spieler
  • Es stehen die aus der Videoanalyse bekannten Mittel der grafischen Anreicherung zur Verfügung, im Gegensatz zur klassischen Videoanalyse ist die Perspektive frei wählbar
  • Alle Szenen können beliebig oft mit Ball nachgespielt werden
  • Mittelfristig können Kataloge von positionsspezifischen Situationen aufgebaut und gezielt für die Spielvorbereitung oder die Integration neuer Spieler genutzt werden
Menü